Fodens are crowned the 160th British Open Champions

Posted by Mark Wilkinson on 3 September 2012

On Saturday 1st September Foden's Band were crowned the '2012 British Open Champions' at the Symphony Hall, Birmingham 
The British Open Contest is classed as the most prestigious Brass Band contest in the World involving 17 of the best brass bands in Great Britain who all pitted their wits against a challenging new composition, Electra by Dr. Martin Ellerby
Foden’s drew number 9 out of 17 and produced a performance in which one of the 3 adjudicators referred to it as "Fabulous – what a performance! Detail, quality, and musicality – it had it all! Dynamics and detail are superb!

Stellar performances from all of the principal players - Mark Wilkinson, Lesley Howie, Richard Poole, John Barber, Stewart Baglin, Helen Williams  and Glyn Williams put the icing on a fantastic team effort and one which secured the title for Sandbach. The performance was directed by the bands conductor Allan Withington 

This win sees Foden’s claim the famous shield for the 10th time in their history (3 of them coming in the last 9 years).  Allan Withington , who has only been Foden’s professional conductor since January has won the national title several times but had never won the Open until now. 

Additional bonuses of the day belonged to Glyn Williams, the celebrated principal euphonium player with Foden’s, who again picked up the Geoff Whitham Award as the ‘Best Euphonium’ Player. Mark Bousie, who sits next to Glyn, was honoured for his services to the banding movement with the coveted Mortimer Medal.

This win now sets Foden’s up for the next major contest – the National Finals at the Royal Albert Hall, London in October in which Foden’s will do battle again but hopefully will complete the “double”

 Adjudicators: Derek Broadbent, Stephen Roberts, Steve Sykes

 1. Foden's (Allan Withington)

2. Black Dyke (Dr Nicholas Childs)

3. Cory (Philip Harper)

4. Grimethorpe Colliery (Garry Cutt)

5. Brighouse & Rastrick (Professor David King)

6. Leyland (Michael Bach)

7. Co-operative Funeralcare (Allan Ramsay)

8. Virtuosi GUS (John Berryman)

9. Desford Colliery (Nigel Seaman)

10. Fairey (Russell Gray)

11. Hepworth (Michael Fowles)

12. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Phillip McCann)

13. Seindorf Beaumaris (Gwyn M Evans)

14. Kirkintilloch (Paul Holland)

15. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse)

16. Reg Vardy (Ray Farr)

17. Rothwell Temperance (David Roberts)

Also see the below link for a report on the contest

For any conductor and every audience, Foden’s Band is a musical Magic Carpet. It continually takes the listener to places that few other ensembles rarely even approach Howard Snell