Foden's are the North West Champions

Posted by Mark Wilkinson on 3 March 2020


On Sunday 23rd February Foden's Band competed at the North West Area Competition at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool. The 'Area' contest is a qualification for the National Finals held at the Royal Albert Hall, London in October.

Each of the 12 leading bands from the North West Area performed a set test piece - this year the chosen piece was 'A Tale as Yet Untold' by composer Philip Sparke which was originally commissioned by the Cory Band for the European Brass Band Championships held in Linz, Austria, 2010.

area 2020 1

After a solid performance Foden's were crowned the 'North West Area Champions' for a record 23rd time and for the 5th consecutive year. The band also won awards for the best 'Percussion Section' and best 'Principal Cornet' of the day.

Adjudicators Alan Morrison and Ian Brownbill were extremely complimentary about the performances with Alan writing 'This was just a memorable performance from start to finish that oozed class and musicality from the Musical Director, Soloists and Band' and Ian commenting 'A performance with so much musicality and technical assurance- really enjoyable.'

area 2020 2

The band now look forward to preparing for the European Brass Band Championships in May where they will represent England following their invitation by becoming the 'National Brass Band Champions of Great Britain' at the Royal Albert Hall in October 2018


1. Foden's (Russell Gray)*
2. Fairey (Garry Cutt)*
3. Rainford (Sarah Groarke-Booth)
4. Wingates (Paul Andrews)
5. Milnrow (Chris Binns)
6. Leyland (Thomas Wyss)
7. Pemberton Old Wigan DW (Ben Dixon)
8. Oldham (Lees) (John Collins)
9. Wardle Anderson Brass (Sean Conway)
10. TCTC Group (Jef Sparkes)
11. Boarshurst Silver (James Garlick)
12. VBS Poynton (Ryan Watkins)

*Qualify for National Final

Best Principal Cornet: Mark Wilkinson (Foden's)
Best Percussion: Foden's

area 2020 3

For any conductor and every audience, Foden’s Band is a musical Magic Carpet. It continually takes the listener to places that few other ensembles rarely even approach Howard Snell