Foden's Solo, Duet and Quartet contest

Posted by Mark Wilkinson on 31 October 2016

Tags: ,

Sandbach School played home to the 6th Foden's Solo, Duet and Quartet contest on Saturday 29th October 2016 where once again a bumper entry of almost 100 competitors competed in various classes and filled what was to be a long and exciting day.

Starting at 10am and not finishing until almost 7pm the audiences and adjudicators were treated to some fantastic playing. Now emerging as an international event competitors travelled from across the world with a strong European contingent, UK and now players from China and Cyprus.

We are indebted again to the support of Besson and Tim Barratt who as the main sponsor helps realise this event for us and also additional support from Band Supplies, Creative Brass, Astute Music, John Needham and Bsharp.

Running the three halls throughout the day kept Foden's players busy to ensure that last minute amendments where controlled. Although the finishing time was estimated around 5.30pm the over run in the Open Solo was due to the 27 entries in the Open Air Varie class. With so many players choosing to take on long challenging works the band will look into restricting the number of performers and piece duration in this class next year but the popularity is understandable considering the prize on offer. For the winner of this class this year, Lode Violet, Foden's Artistic Director Maestro Tovey will write a solo piece for Lode and Foden's that will be premiered at the RNCM Brass Band Festival in 2017 by kind permission of Paul Hindmarsh.

Thanks must also go to the adjudicators Tom Hutchinson, Michael Fowles, John Barber, Mark Wilkinson and Andy Scott who had a tough task throughout the day, especially Michael who had the daunting task of choosing winners in the Open Slow melody and Open Air Varie.

It is hard to believe that this has now emerged to such a highly regarded event which is attracting some of the very best players around. Thanks to the Foden's players and helpers who did a great job with special thanks to Foden's solo cornet player Paul McDonald who controlled the refectory and helped keep people fed and watered.

We look forward to 2017 and the date will be announced in due course

Fiona Rolfe

Class 1 – 11 and Under Slow Melody (Helen Stewart Memorial Quaich) plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1st Amelia Stuart
2nd Lewis Barton
3rd Simon Binon

Class 2 – 12 and 13 Slow Melody (Diamond Jubilee Trophy). plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1st Adam Warburton
2nd Hannah Taylor
3rd Rory MacLeod

Class 3 – 14 to 16 Slow Melody (B and G J Birch Memorial Cup). plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1st Owain Llestyn
2nd Archie McVicar
3rd Lewis Topping

Class 4 – 17 to 19 Slow Melody (Bryan Tait Trophy). plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1st Gemma Riley
2nd Zoe Wright
3rd Kirsten MacDonald

Class 5 – Vintage Slow Melody (Lyndon Baglin Trophy).

1st Paul Bennett
2nd Murray Borthwick
3rd Patricia Woodings

Class 6 – Open Slow Melody (Mark Wilkinson Trophy).

1st Lode Violet
2nd Paul Bennett
3rd Kevin Van Giel

Class 7 – Under 16 Air Varie (Granville Jennings Trophy).

1st Owain Llestyn
2nd Archie McVicar
3rd Lewis Barton

Class 8 – 16 to 21 Air Varie (Louise Charles Memorial Trophy).

1st Isobel Daws
2nd Liv Appleton
3rd Seth Livingstone

Class 9 – Vintage Air Varie (Bramwell Tovey Award).

1st Paul Bennett
2nd Murray Borthwick
3rd Patricia Wildings

Class 10 – Open Air Varie (Peter Fletcher President’s Trophy).

1st Lode Violet
2nd Kevin Van Giel
3rd Isobel Daws

Class 11 – 11 and Under Duet (Roy Alcock Prize)

1st Annie and Amelia Stuart
2nd Emil and Florien Rogsaeter
3rd rRby and Kitty Hawker

Class 12 – 12 to 16 Duet. (George Rolfe Memorial Cup) plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1st Simon and Martijn Binon
2nd Hannah Taylor and Bethany Harby
3rd Music Girls

Class 13 – Open Duet. (Sandbach Boys School Trophy)

1st Stephen Lomas and Daniel Brooks
2nd Trombonium
3rd Vincent Tan and Adam Bokaris

Class 15 – 12- 16 Quartet. (Foden's Annual Award)

1st The Purple Ladies
2nd Llantastic Four
3rd Nordly’s Kvartet (Northern Lights)

Class 16 – Open Quartet (Foden Challenge Trophy).

1st Lutece (PBB)
2nd In Slide Out
3rd Bury Brass


Best Local Player (Sandbach Town Council Trophy) – Amelia Stuart

Outstanding Performances of the Day (Flowcrete Trophy) – Lode Violet

Most Outstanding Player 12-15 – Christie Smith

Most Outstanding Cornet Player – Lewis Barton

Most Outstanding Horn Player – Kirsten McDonald

Most Outstanding Euphonium Player (Glyn Williams Trophy) – Kevin Van Geil

Most Outstanding Trombone Player – Adam Warburton

Most Outstanding Bass Player – Archie McVicar

Youngest Player in the Competition – Florien Krogseaeter (Aged 8)



Foden's band maintains a world class reputation for providing entertainment in the field of brass music with a tradition and unique style Mark Wilkinson