Foden's are the Champions

Posted by Mark Wilkinson on 26 February 2019


On Sunday 24th February Foden's competed at the North West Area Competition held at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool.

The 'Area' is a qualification contest for the Nationals Finals which are held at the Royal Albert Hall, London in October. Due to Foden's winning the 'National Finals' last year they automatically received a 'bye' to the finals but a condition of this is that they would enter the 'Area' contest.

Each of the 12 leading bands from the North West Area performed a set test piece - this year the chosen piece was 'Seascapes' by composer Ray Steadman-Allen

After a solid performance Foden's were crowned the 'North West Area Champions' for a record 22nd time with their percussion section being award the prize for the best 'Percussion'.  The win secured the band their 4th consecutive victory at this contest.

Adjudicators Sheona White and Howard Evans both commented on the quality of the performance and that Foden's were the 'clear' winners.

Speaking about the victory Mark Wilkinson commented 'All at Foden's would like to thank those who have sent messages congratulating the band on their historic win. We would like to thank Russell Gray for directing the band as well as Michael Fowles who once again did a fantastic job helping prepare us for the contest. 

1. Foden's (Russell Gray)**
2. Leyland (Thomas Wyss)*
3. Pemberton Old Wigan DW (Ben Dixon)*
4. Fairey (Garry Cutt)
5. Wardle Anderson Brass (Sean Conway)
6. Milnrow (Dennis Hadfield)
7. TCTC Group (Jef Sparkes)
8. Wingates (Paul Andrews)
9. Oldham (Lees) (John Collins)
10. VBS Poynton (Stig Maersk)
11. Ashton-Under Lyne (Philip Chalk)
12. Freckleton (John Pearson)

** Foden's pre-qualified for National Final
* Qualify for National Final

Best Percussion: Foden's Band


For any conductor and every audience, Foden’s Band is a musical Magic Carpet. It continually takes the listener to places that few other ensembles rarely even approach Howard Snell